A Lethal Legacy: A History of Ireland in 18 Murders

This document was uploaded by one of our users. The uploader already confirmed that they had the permission to publish it. If you are author/publisher or own the copyright of this documents, please report to us by using this DMCA report form.

Simply click on the Download Book button.

Yes, Book downloads on Ebookily are 100% Free.

Sometimes the book is free on Amazon As well, so go ahead and hit "Search on Amazon"

The Instant Top 5 Irish Times Bestseller From the creator of The Irish History Podcast comes a fascinating look at Irish history through the lens of murder. In A Lethal Legacy, Fin Dwyer charts 200 years of Irish history, opening up our past as never before, by observing the grand societal changes of our times through the intimate lens of eighteen murders and the lives and communities they altered forever. From the creator of the critically acclaimed Irish History Podcast comes a ground-breaking exploration of the past, casting its gaze beyond the chambers of power and carnage of battle, and into the lives of the everyday people that lived through those violent centuries. From the desperate retributions of the Land War of the nineteenth century, through the unprecedented tumult of the revolutionary years, to the causes that helped to shape contemporary Ireland, these previously overlooked cases of human tragedy offer a fresh perspective on a history we think we know. Astonishing, illuminating and compelling, A Lethal Legacy chronicles Ireland’s turbulent past through one of our most enduring fascinations – the act of killing – and in mapping the causes and aftermath of these cases, Dwyer offers us a fresh new understanding of the fires that forged modern Ireland.

Author(s): Fin Dwyer
Edition: 1
Publisher: HarperNorth
Year: 2023

Language: English
Pages: 400
City: Manchester
Tags: History--Europe--Great Britain--General; History--Europe--Ireland; History--Social History; True Crime--Historical; True Crime--Murder--General

Title Page
Note to Readers

Chapter 1 – A United Kingdom? 1821
Chapter 2 – Sectarianism, 1834
Chapter 3 – Hunger, 1846
Chapter 4 – Eviction, 1847
Chapter 5 – The Workhouse, 1862
Chapter 6 – Land, 1881
Chapter 7 – Emigration, 1894
Chapter 8 – The Asylum, 1890
Chapter 9 – Divided Loyalties, 1919
Chapter 10 – War & Revolution, 1920
Chapter 11 – Partition, 1922
Chapter 12 – A Free State? 1923
Chapter 13 – The Price of Progress, 1928
Chapter 14 – In Search of Public Morality, 1936
Chapter 15 – Servants of Empire, 1940
Chapter 16 – Escaping Poverty, 1965
Chapter 17 – The Troubles, 1972
Chapter 18 – At a Crossroads, 1982

Picture Section
About the Author
About the Publisher